Local Feature: POSITIVE SLC

Being that I am kind of a procrastinator and I often put too many things on my plate, it has taken me forever to get this feature up. g elect presents has been working with Jordon Madison, the founder of Positive SLC for about 3 years now. He has been handling the printing duties for all of our club promotions during that time, and secretly hatching a plan to blow every other local clothing designer out of the water. Ok, I may be embellishing a little due to my general view of Jordon being a total badass. Regardless, I was able to ship some questions to him a few months back, and he was kind enough to answer. So to get you a little more acquainted with Jordon Madison and Positive SLC:

How long have you been designing clothing?
I think its been close to two years now. I remember the first article of clothing I designed was a shirt for the local band “until further notice”. It was a really simple design with a tree and some text. My designs have improved a ten fold sense then. I think after designing that shirt sparked my desire to start my own line.

Where did you develop the idea for your brand and style?
Originally I started the brand with two buddies, I came up with the name Positive if I remember right. Back then I think we just thought the name was badass and original so it didn’t have much meaning. When I re-launched the project on my own, under the name Positive SLC I actually had a solid direction with what I wanted to do and what I wanted to represent through the clothing. Put simply the idea behind the brand is living life with a positive outlook, no drama, no bullshit, just straight up good times and good people. Add making a difference, some style, and you have Positive SLC. The meaning behind the name has a huge influence on our style and designs. Some of shirts that are coming out (Positive SLC Store) have a positive message. If it doesn’t have a message incorporated into the design like “Kill the Drama” or “Keep it Positive” then your definitely going to see positive symbols slapped somewhere in the mix. You won’t see us going all corporate and mainstream. I do things different because we are not in it for the money. We are in it in it for the art, positive people, and great times.

What kind of materials do you currently offer?
Shirts and bandanas. New shit comes out January! Duh duh duh… Get excited!

What are you plans for the future materials?
New shirts, new bandanas, tank tops, hoodies, jackets, beanies, gloves, socks, underwear, etc. I have got some snow gear in the works but that’s on the down low for now. I’m also going to do a few charity shirts, so all the proceeds with go to a non profit organization. I have yet to choose the organization, but it should be pretty rad do something like that. I’m way stoked.

How do you feel your audience connects with what you are trying to accomplish?
That’s hard to say, because I’m on the other end of the stick. But no one in their right mind likes drama or bullshit. So logically it should be pretty easy for people to connect with what I’m trying to accomplish. An original clothing line that makes a difference.

Do you have any unique branding methods? (without giving away any secrets)
I have a few tricks up my sleeve but they are top secret.

Where can people find your stuff?
We are currently available online @ www.positiveslc.com, Just click the shop link on the right hand.

You can find all of Jordon’s work and keep up with him by following these links.
http://positiveslc.com
http://facebook.com/positiveSLC
http://twitter.com/positiveslc

Kid Sister – Life On TV (Redlight Remix)

Take it easy.

JSJ

About g elect

g elect presents is a fledgling record label and promotions company located in Salt Lake City, Utah. It was formally founded in 2007. We throw parties, book shows, tours, and celebrate the talented DJs and musicians that the world has to offer.
This entry was posted in Art, Fashion, Salt Lake and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Local Feature: POSITIVE SLC

  1. Pingback: Featured @ gelect.wordpress.com «

Leave a Reply

